Skip to main content

Baldridge In Education

Baldrige in Education is a model of continuous improvement. The model is named after the late Secretary of Commerce, Malcolm Baldrige. Mr. Baldrige was a proponent of quality management and drafted early criteria. The United States Congress named an award in honor of Mr. Baldrige. This award was a result of issues associated with the decline in quality of American businesses in the early 1980's. In 1987 Congress established the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award to raise awareness regarding quality management. In so doing it created a standard of excellence. In the mid-1990's Baldrige award winners outperformed the Standard Poor's 500 at a ratio of 6.5 to 1.

The Baldrige framework, used as a target for success, consists of seven Criteria and eleven Core Values.

The seven Criteria consist of:

1.0 Leadership
2.0 Strategic Planning
3.0 Student, Stakeholder, and Market Focus
4.0 Measurement, Analysis, and Knowledge Management
5.0 Faculty and Staff Focus
6.0 Process Management
7.0 Performance Results

The eleven Core Values consist of:

  1. Managing for Innovation
  2. Systems Perspective
  3. Visionary Leadership
  4. Learning Centered Education; 
  5. Management by Fact
  6. Public Responsibility and Citizenship 
  7. Organizational and Personal Learning
  8. Focus on Results and Creating Value
  9. Agility
  10. Valuing Faculty, Staff, and Partners
  11. Focus on the Future.

When the criteria and core values are working together, a high performing system exists.